ContactJuggling.org Forum Index ContactJuggling.org
Half dance, half juggling, half mime, half magic....I'm a contact juggler, not a mathematician

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
alarming trend in contact juggling
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next  

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Spare

Posted: Tue Jun 21, 2024 8:44 pm    Post subject:

Just my two pennies worth...

I'm basically a CJing newbie. I've been at it for less than a year, and compared to pretty much every other active member on this site, I suck big time (or so it seems at least). But I don't care, because CJing is wicked. It looks slick, it's fun, it's challenging, and I really love doing it, no matter how many drops or shakey stalls and isolations frequent my practice sessions.

I don't know where CJing is going. I don't even know where I personally want to go with it. I think body rolling is wicked, I like body popping/isolation work (although other forms of dance with CJ inspire me little), and whilst I've only just been able to get into multiball, from watching other people and videos, it excites me.

I enjoy the fact that I'm so new to this just as these various styles are developing. It means I get to pick and choose what I like, or try it all. I try and copy everything I see, often to little avail, partially to gain a decent knowledge base of tricks, but mainly to gain a good understanding of how my body works in conjunction with the acryllics, the nature of isolation, etc.

I will happily "rip off" tricks from anyone I see. How else am I gonna learn? I do as much contact as I can, because I'm not going sit down one day and suddenly think "I've thought of an amazing new style/trick/idea!". If that ever happens, it will happen when I am practicing contact, practicing moves I have copied off other people.