ContactJuggling.org Forum Index ContactJuggling.org
Half dance, half juggling, half mime, half magic....I'm a contact juggler, not a mathematician

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Digression

View previous topic :: View next topic  
xdavidx

Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2024 1:17 am    Post subject: Digression

it feels like I've gotten as far as I can which isn't far at all. I've been doing it since October and just can't see any foward progression at all, infact I'm seeing digression. I got the plam spin iso, but not I'm finding it harder and harder to do simple things like windshield wipers and the squeeze up iso that I was able to do just a few short weeks after learning CJ, sometimes I'm having hard time just keeping it in the cradle. I'm trying to do the cradle to cradle transfer and I can't get it done to save my life. Something I was starting to get not too long ago, but now it's like I've never tried it before.

Anyone had a problem like this? How did you get past it?
PorcuBrine
Chitter-chattering, wee magical heather bear

Posted: Sat Dec 08, 2024 1:46 am    Post subject:

Welcome to your first plateau, I doubt there's a juggler out there who hasn't gone through a stage like this, I go through one every few months. During this time you'll probably not feel as though you're learning anything and you'll not be at all happy with what you can do.

I usually find that when I emerge, bleary eyed, from a plateau I've actually improved vastly at what I thought was rubbish beforehand, it's almost as though you're giving your brain a chance to catch up.

So ways to get past these down periods...Try a different discipline alongside your contact, maybe try some multiball or toss juggling, grab some poi or get stuck into contact staff. Cross training also benefits your overall ability and then you start to mix the things together, it's all good.