ContactJuggling.org Forum Index ContactJuggling.org
Half dance, half juggling, half mime, half magic....I'm a contact juggler, not a mathematician

Profile  Search  Memberlist  FAQ  Usergroups
Principle and theory
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  

View previous topic :: View next topic  
SenseiStrange

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2024 11:31 pm    Post subject: Principle and theory

In Aikido, I am a teacher of a physical art. Physical arts have core principles that guide the art. I gives a framework for analysis and aids those learning the art form.

In Aikido technique is not seen as important as principle. Technique is an application of principle.

Does this logic hold up in this art form as well? What are some of the guiding and defining principles that make up this art?

I will start. Feel free to disagree. Remember these are basic principles not LAW.

In order for Sphere manipulation (CJ) to be effective......

1.) the sphere moves smoothly across the body. Jerking motions, rapid shifts in direction, and tense body dynamics reduce the asthetic nature and effectiveness of a manipulation.
Somnilocus

Posted: Wed Dec 05, 2024 11:56 pm    Post subject:

I think it applies to everything. :]
FireMage

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2024 12:46 am    Post subject:

Not sure if this blurs the realm of principal and law, but there is definatly two guiding forces at work, or to work, in my opinion. I am also pretty sure this has been stated before elsewhere by numerous others...so please dont kill me for paraphrasing.

A manipulator must either move the ball around himself, or move himself around the ball.

And I believe this incorporates all dynamics.

After writing this i suppose one could do both at the same time. Thinking of a double time chest roll, where you would both roll the ball around the chest, and move youself under the ball. Not exactly sure of the practicality due to limited visibility and possible lack of control.
Illumilatte

Posted: Thu Dec 06, 2024 2:47 am    Post subject: